March 14, 2012

Carfax sends me a survey

Carfax sends me a survey for my “recent data correction request” wherein I contacted them to update the report on the car I used to own–2002 Nissan Sentra SE-R VIN#: 3N1AB51A92L727519 (abbrev. VIN #: 3N1AB51A92L)–and they refused to do so, because I am not one of their “trusted sources.”  So somehow Universal City Nissan, where I had this car into 12 times, is not either.  So if that dealership is not a “trusted source” then how can any Carfax report be trusted as being accurate?  So why pay the $34.99 to Carfax since you can’t trust the information you are getting, since they won’t accept legitimate information from former owners who are just trying to protect a potential buyer?

——————–

From: CARFAX <carfax@carfaxconsumer.net>
Date: Wed, Mar 14, 2012 at 5:01 AM
Subject: Give Us Your Feedback
CARFAX would like feedback on your recent data correction request. It will only take two minutes of your time. All answers are kept strictly confidential and findings are used to better enhance the products we offer to you. This brief survey is strictly for research purposes. No one will try to sell you anything as a result of your participation.

Click here to begin the survey.

Thank you,

Tracey Holupka

CARFAX Market Research Manager

CARFAX, Inc.

CARFAX does not intentionally send unsolicited email and respects your right to receive only information that is of interest to you. Please click here if you do not wish to receive future promotional mailings from CARFAX. Your request will be processed within 48 hours.

Have questions for CARFAX? Please visit our Online Help Center at http://www.carfax.com/help

Please do not reply to this automated email.

CARFAX Inc.

5860 Trinity Parkway, Suite 600

Centreville, VA 20120

http://www.carfax.com/help

——————–

And here are my answers:

——————–

1. Prior to this issue, had you previously contacted Carfax with a different data correction request?

Yes

No X

I don’t recall

2. Thinking about your most recent Carfax Data Correction Request, how satisfied were you with each of the following areas?

The time it took after I submitted my request to initially hear back from Carfax – Completely Satisfied 

The quality of explanation I received regarding the resolution of my issue – Completely Dissatisfied

The time it took to resolve/close my request – Completely Dissatisfied

The quality of the overall customer service I received – Completely Dissatisfied

3. Was your Data Correction Request resolved?

Yes

No X

I don’t recall

4.What explanation was given as to why your issue could not be resolved?

Carfax refused to use my accurate and truthful dealership invoices. More can be found here: https://dontbuynissan.wordpress.com/2012/03/07/carfax-continues-to-refuse-to-update-the-report-on-this-sentra/

https://dontbuynissan.wordpress.com/2012/03/05/the-carfax-report/

5. How satisfied were you with the explanation given as to why your issue couldn’t be resolved?

Completely Satisfied

Satisfied

Neutral

Dissatisfied

Completely Dissatisfied X

6. Overall, how well did the Carfax Data Correction Process meet your expectations?

Exceeded my expectations

Met my expectations

Neutral

Didn’t meet my expectations

Disappointed me completely X

7.What else could have happened to make the Carfax data correction request process better?

CARFAX COULD HAVE ACTUALLY UPDATED THE CARFAX REPORT to protect the next potential buyer of my car, which is what I thought the entire purpose of Carfax was. It baffles me that you refuse to accept dealership invoices from a proven previous owner of a car, and that your “sources” do not include the dealership I had my previous car into 12 times. That mean no Carfax report can be trusted.

8. How satisfied are you with Carfax overall?

5 – Very Satisfied

4

3

2

1 – Not at all Satisfied X

March 8, 2012

Like Carfax, AutoCheck (Experian) also refuses to update their report

Here is my email correspondence with AutoCheck (a part of Experian) regarding requesting them to update their report on my former 2002 Nissan Sentra SE-R VIN#: 3N1AB51A92L727519 (abbrev. VIN #: 3N1AB51A92L):
—————–
From: Experian Automotive Customer Support <customersupport@experian.com>
Date: Wed, Mar 7, 2012
Subject: RE: AutoCheck Inquiry to update report on 2002 Nissan Sentra

Hello,

Thank you for the information, but unfortunately we are only able to add data from our sources to the report.  This is to verify each record before adjusting the AutoCheck report.

Thank You,

Valerie

Customer Support AutoCheck

cid:image003.png@01CBF45F.DD8D5A50

 

—————
Date: Wed, Mar 7, 2012
Subject: Re: AutoCheck Inquiry to update report on 2002 Nissan Sentra
To: Experian Automotive Customer Support <customersupport@experian.com>

Dear Valerie,
I am trying to help AutoCheck as a company to have an accurate report in order to ensure a potential buyer has all the information on this car before buying it.  I can prove I was the owner during the time period of the invoices.  You could accept my invoices and then do your own due diligence, whatever that may be, to verify each record, but these are true and accurate services that should be updated to the AutoCheck report ASAP.

I’m dumbfounded by the fact that so far both CarFax and AutoCheck are unwilling to update their reports to make them accurate, because the entire purpose of your companies and your reports is to ensure consumers have accurate information before purchasing a used car.

I have already posted a blog entry on Carfax: https://dontbuynissan.wordpress.com/2012/03/05/the-carfax-report/

Do you wish me to post one as well on AutoCheck, saying that like Carfax, you cannot trust AutoCheck reports either because even when a previous owner contacts them with true and accurate services, AutoCheck refuses to update the information?  How come AutoCheck doesn’t have the 12 services documented in their report on this car from Universal City Nissan?  And since they don’t, how can any consumer trust an AutoCheck report because any report could be missing tons of services just like mine is, which in turn means, all AutoCheck reports have the potential to be inaccurate therefore consumers should not pay any money whatsoever to order these reports, because what’s the point if they’re not accurate.

Since you are owned by Experian, you can check my Credit Score and Credit Report with Experian – as of 2/14/12 I got my Experian Credit Score from one of my banks which told me it was 783.  The purpose of me telling you this is that I am a trustworthy individual who always pays my bills on time, and I am simply trying to provide AutoCheck with accurate and truthful information, trying to be a good citizen here in order to ensure a potential buyer of my former car that was into 3 different Nissan dealerships 18 times for the same/similar idling shut down problems which I believe still exist with the car has that information so they can make an informed decision as to whether or not to purchase it.

I request that my case be escalated to your supervisor – I would like to speak with a supervisor or manager at AutoCheck.  Thank you.

———————–
From: Experian Automotive Customer Support <customersupport@experian.com>
Date: Thu, Mar 8, 2012 at 7:36 AM
Subject: RE: AutoCheck Inquiry to update report on 2002 Nissan Sentra

Hello,

I do appreciate the effort, but we are not able to add data to the AutoCheck unless it is from our secure resources.

Thank You,

Valerie

Customer Support AutoCheck

cid:image003.png@01CBF45F.DD8D5A50

———————————-

Once again, like Carfax, Valerie at AutoCheck, owned by Experian, the credit report bureau, both refuses to update their report on this car and make it accurate and she refuses to provide me with her superior’s contact information.  It just baffles me that Universal City Nissan is not one of their “sources” and that they refuse to even look into this issue and try to get the information.  AutoCheck just doesn’t care to have a accurate and updated report on cars.

I know I will never trust an AutoCheck report or a Carfax report in the future again.  Because if AutoCheck and Carfax refuse to update their reports with truthful and accurate information from a former owner, and if they don’t have the 12 services from Universal City Nissan on the report for this car, then how can we trust that any of their reports are up to date and accurate?

——

Changing the world one post at a time

March 7, 2012

Carfax continues to refuse to update the report on this Sentra

Here’s a string of emails between myself and Mary Otto, Resolution Manager of Carfax, today regarding my former 2002 Nissan Sentra, VIN#: 3N1AB51A92L727519 (abbrev. VIN #: 3N1AB51A92L):

——————-
Date: Wed, Mar 7, 2012
Subject: Re: consumer data correction inquiry [Incident: 120229-000438]
To: CARFAX Product Support <consumerresearch@carfax.com>

Dear Ms. Otto,
I just reviewed the Carfax you sent me and once again, it is not only not updated and accurate, but there is WRONG INFORMATION on it.

On 1/4/12 and 1/13/12 I know for a fact that my car was NOT serviced at Power Nissan Torrance with phone number 310-370-7401 because I just called that number and that is to Power Nissan Gardena.  My car was serviced at Power Nissan of South Bay which is in Hawthorne, and their main number is 310-536-4000.  I have provided you with Power Nissan of South Bay invoices that prove this.  This is misleading information for a consumer who may want to perform their due diligence on this car and speak to the dealership who serviced it.

In addition, it was Power Nissan of South Bay who “bought-back” this car from me on 2/18/12 and as of earlier this week and last week they were listing it for sale on their website, so I believe that the services on 2/23/12, 2/24/12 and 2/29/12 were performed at Power Nissan of South Bay as well, NOT Power Nissan of Torrance – these are two separate “Power Nissan” dealerships.  Therefore this proves that where you are pulling your information from has the wrong information, therefore how can a consumer trust anything from Carfax if you are unwilling to update your information even when I send you proof that it is wrong.

In addition, once again, none of the 12 services from Universal City Nissan have been updated on this Carfax.

I demand to speak to you supervisor since you have refused once again to update this Carfax accordingly and make accurate and true information available to a potential buyer.  Thank you.

—————–
From: CARFAX Product Support <consumerresearch@carfax.com>
Date: Wed, Mar 7, 2012
Subject: RE: consumer data correction inquiry [Incident: 120229-000438]

Below is CARFAX’s response to your recent inquiry.

 Subject
RE: consumer data correction inquiry
 Discussion Thread
 Response Via Email (Mary) 03/07/2012
Good afternoon,I have submitted this VIN in for research to straighten out the dealership locations on the CARFAX Report. Sometimes dealer names display incorrectly if there is more than one dealership owned by the same dealer group, which seems to be the case in this situation.As for the Universal City Nissan service records, again, I am unable to add these to the CARFAX Report. All data that appears on our report is supplied by public and private data sources who are under contract with CARFAX to supply such data. If the information is not displayed that is because they are not a data provider to CARFAX and therefore, I am unable to add these records to the report.Furthermore, you are no longer the owner of the vehicle and I cannot accept your documents to add additional records to the CARFAX Report.

Thank you,

Mary Otto
Resolution Manager
CARFAX, Inc.

———

As you see, Mary Otto, Resolution Manager of Carfax, continues to refuse to update the report with the Universal City Nissan invoices and refuses to put me in contact with her supervisor.  This means how can you, as a consumer, trust any Carfax report whatsoever if they do not pull information from certain dealerships, and then refuses to take accurate information when a concerned former owner contacts them?

——

Changing the world one post at a time

March 5, 2012

The Carfax Report on my former car is not up-to-date and Carfax refuses to update it

As reported previously, Power Nissan “bought back” the 2002 Nissan Sentra, VIN#: 3N1AB51A92L727519 (abbrev. VIN #: 3N1AB51A92L) I previously owned.  I am so happy that car is out of my life.

I noticed that Power Nissan currently has the car available for sale on their website here: http://powernissansouthbay.net/Hawthorne/For-Sale/Used/Nissan/Sentra/2002-SE-R-Silver-Car/7629386/

I also noticed that the free Carfax report available at that link is not up-to-date.  So in an effort to be a good citizen and try to help out both Carfax, which I “believed” was a good company, and to help make sure a potential buyer has up-to-date accurate information, I contacted Carfax and emailed them my 18 dealership service records from Universal City Nissan, Santa Monica Nissan and Power Nissan, for them to update the Carfax report.  Mary Otto, Resolution Manager of Carfax, Inc., emailed me back refusing to do so because “Currently CARFAX policy states that data from consumers is not accepted….This is specifically for ‘data correction’. This is here for current vehicle owners to disputing information that is already listed on the CARFAX Report.”

When I explained to Ms. Otto that I was the owner of the car up until 2/18/12 and that I am asking in this instance, since I owned the car for 4 years and had multiple problems that I believe still may exist with this car, that she accept the dealership invoices and she refused again, and refused to provide the information for her supervisor or any upper management at Carfax.

Here is the current Carfax Report on the Sentra SE-R I previously owned, which is available for free on Power Nissan’s website:

CARFAX Vehicle History Report on 3N1AB51A92L727519

As you will see there are NO services listed from Universal City Nissan, which is the dealership I had this car into 12 times between 2009-2011, who replaced 3 Electronic Throttle Bodies and  2 Electronic Control Units in addition to other services to try and fix the idling/shut down problem with this Sentra SE-R, yet none of these show up on the Carfax report for this car.

So this raises the questions: how can Carfax reports be trusted if Carfax refuses to accept legitimate dealership invoices to update the Carfax?  If the Carfax report on my previous car was very inaccurate because Carfax did not pull any data from Universal City Nissan, and if Carfax did not pull data from them, a legitimate Nissan dealership where I had my car into 12 times, then how can a consumer trust any Carfax report because how many other Carfax reports are inaccurate because Carfax does not pull from certain dealerships and refuses to update when a legitimate previous owner contacts Carfax with legitimate dealership invoices?

Just for the record, I have no problem with Power Nissan reselling this car, I have no problem with Power Nissan making a profit over what they bought it back from me at.  What I do have a problem with is Power Nissan selling a car that is dangerous, that still has the idling/shut down problem, to a consumer without telling them.

The day they bought back my car, I had a conversation with the Service Manager of Power Nissan and told him that it took about 500 miles of driving after the 12/21/11 service at Power Nissan before the car shut down while idling and I brought it back to them on 12/31/11.  And after they gave me back the car on 1/14/12 it took another approximately 500 miles before it shut down again on 1/31/12.  The Service Manager said he would probably drive the car himself, with the snapshot machine connected, even home if he had to, in order to duplicate the problem in order to fix it correctly.

If you look at the current Carfax report, only 3 miles have been put on the car between buying it from me on 2/18/12 at 78,990 miles and the last service reported on the Carfax on 2/29/12 at 78,993 miles.  I do not believe this car was tested enough to determine the problem and fix it. If Power Nissan wishes to retort this, then by all means contact me.

I am simply trying to be a good citizen here.  I would never want anyone to go through what I have gone through with this Nissan Sentra SE-R.  Therefore if the Carfax is up-to-date, then at least there’s the chance a potential buyer will be intelligent enough to pull the Carfax themselves or to look at it for free on Power Nissan’s website, so that they can have the information regarding all 18 Services on this car in order for them to make an intelligent decision on whether or not to buy the car.

And I just cannot understand why Carfax would refuse to update the report on this car, why Carfax refuses to ensure accurate information on their own Carfax report, and why Mary Otto, Resolution Manager, refuses to give me contact information for her supervisor or any upper management, when I am solely trying to help out Carfax.

February 18, 2012

A BIG THANK YOU TO POWER NISSAN

A big thank you goes out to Omar Gulam, General Manager of Power Nissan, for settling my dispute today.  Mr. Gulam called me within hours of me contacting him yesterday and we came to a very fair agreement, and he made the process today so very easy.  Thank you Mr. Gulam!!!!

Also, thank you to Jimmy Hargreaves who helped with the deal, and John Bolter and Mr. Gulam again for the loaner.  All of you rock big time and I thank you so so much.  You are all a credit to Nissan and to AutoNation.

 

[I will be writing a longer thank you shortly…]

February 15, 2012

Universal City Nissan lied to the Better Business Bureau

I reviewed my complaint with the Better Business Bureau filed 12/03/10 against Universal City Nissan and they outright lied to the BBB in their response.  In their response, Universal City Nissan wrote, I have “never been charged for any work done at Universal City Nissan.” This is absolutely untrue as I have paid Universal City Nissan $751 to fix my car in January 2009 and their fixes never fixed the idling/shut down problem or the SESL light that continued to come on.

I also find it amusing that Universal City Nissan says I can “call NISSAN the factory if he feels the vehicle is defective and they can open a claim, which in turn they will send a FACTORY technician out to our dealership to check vehicle. NISSAN the factory can then make the determination of what the vehicle needs or deem it to be unrepairable” because I have done exactly that. I have opened 8 files with Nissan Corp., the mechanics at Universal City Nissan have been on the phone with Nissan’s Tech line, and Nissan has sent out a DTS, and still my Sentra shuts off while idling after all of that, AND STILL Nissan refuses to offer a settlement to buyback my Sentra.

Here is the full BBB complaint along with Universal City Nissan’s response:

 

Complaint ID: 98570675

Complaint Details:

Universal City Nissan, Inc.
3550 West Cahuenga Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90068-1304
Contact: Vasquez, Albert
Phone:(818) 769-8100

Complaint Description – Posted 12/3/2010 11:17:56 AM

Problem # /Date/Problem/Solution #1 1/31/08/Service Engine Soon (SES) Light/Recall R0712 – Reprogram ECM (update of the software). Evap Leak (#1), Resecure fuel cap #2 8/23/08/SES/Idle Air Control Reset (#1): Performed Idle Air Relearn, Reset ECM set idle, Adjust Idle Control Valve. $165 #3 1/9/09/Car won’t start/Codes P0605, Po183, P2128, P1229, P0122. Replace ECM unit (#1) due to pulling too many codes // Main harness pin test, repair fuel pump wire in main harness, $449.00 #4 1/28/09/SES / Code P0455 Evap gross leak (#2). Repair Fuel lines, replace “O” Ring, $302.00. #5 6/6/09/SES, stalls on highway/Code P1456 Evap very small leak (#3), recurred gas cap. #6 7/12/09/SES, no power/Code PO233, replace Throttle Chamber (#1) #7 7/21/09 / SES / Code P1456 Evap small leak (#4), replaced vent control valve #8 7/28/09 / Car shuts off in traffic / Performed air idle learn (#2) #9 12/2/09 / Car shifting hard / Santa Monica Nissan determines there is no communication between the sensor and the ECM (computer), which means it’s an electrical problem, and they want to do a pin test for $575 #10 12/7/09 / SES / Replaced Throttle Assembly (#2) #11 12/24/09 / SES / replace radiator #12 4/24/10 / SES / Diagnostics showed TP Sensor, performed Idle Control Learn Volume (#3) #13 5/12/10 / SES, car stalls / Replace Throttle Body Sensor (#3) #14 11/6/10 / SES / Repaired Ground Wire at ECM #15 11/16/10 / car shuts off in traffic / replace ECM, charge $111.50 for car rental

Complaint Summary

Over the past 3 years, I’ve had my car into Nissan 15 times for service. They have yet to fix it. Every few weeks to 7 months I have to bring it back.

Resolution Sought

I want Nissan to recall the car and exchange for a similar car in return.

Company’s Response

Company’s Initial Response – Posted 01/18/2011
Although vehicle was not purchased through Universal City Nissan, we have made an effort on our end to repair vehicle. [He] has never been charged for any work done at Universal City Nissan because it has all been taken care of by the warranty he has on vehicle. He has taken it to Santa Monica Nissan for work on certain problems that had arisen with the vehicle and may have been charged at that dealership. We understand [him] and would like to help. He can call NISSAN the factory if he feels the vehicle is defective and they can open a claim, which in turn they will send a FACTORY technician out to our dealership to check vehicle. NISSAN the factory can then make the determination of what the vehicle needs or deem it to be unrepairable.
Initial Response Summary
Vehicle has been repaired and covered under factory warranty.

Consumer’s Rebuttal

Consumer’s Rebuttal – Posted 01/19/2011
Universal City Nissan (UCN), in addition to NISSAN Corporate, continue with their lies and total disregard for my case.I was charged $449 on 1/9/09, & on 1/28 another $302 by UCN, both times for wires, I have the receipts to prove it. The next 13 times they covered under warranty after much argument, yet continued to not fix my car properly. My car has been out of service 76 days in 3 years. It’s had 3 throttle bodies and 2 ECMs and a Certified Nissan Tech has told me there is no way these parts could have gone bad in this amount of time–that it is due to incompetent mechanics not spending the time to find the real problem, which is most likely wires and/or the main harness.I have opened three files with NISSAN:6543356, 6671333N, 6989291, and they have yet to send out a FACTORY technician even after I requested it. UCN knows this because I have given Juan Beccera (Service Manager) my long document with all my correspondence. On 12/2/10, David Larush, Regional Specialist under file # 6989291 offered me a 100,000 mile/7yr warranty and then reneged on it after realizing the 7 years had already passed, even though it clearly stated my car was a 2002 in the 15 invoices I sent him.

Company’s Final Response
Company’s Final Response – None Posted

 

 

——

Changing the world one post at a time

My aim is to give a truthful, accurate account of the four year nightmare of owning my Nissan Sentra and the stress, exhaustion, and anger I experienced dealing with Nissan Corp. and the three dealerships. If anyone I mention here or elsewhere on my blog wishes to email me with any comments on anything I say, or wishes to contradict or challenge anything I say, I will be more than happy to review any comments, to post your comments and then comment on them myself, or remove anything that I find out to be inaccurate.

THIS IS THE THE TRUTH ABOUT NISSAN AND HOW NISSAN CORP. AND THE DEALERSHIPS TREAT THEIR CAR OWNERS AND WHY YOU:

DON’T BUY NISSAN

BUY THE COMPETITION

February 15, 2012

Change.org Petitions against Nissan

Check out this New York Times article on Change.org: After Recess: Change the World and the power of these petitions to change the world.  I just signed these Change.org petitions against Nissan:

Give payment relief to buyers of 2005 Nissan Xterra’s

Nissan USA: Help Owners of Muranos with Dangerous Design Defects

Nissan Motor Company: Do a recall on Radiators and Transmissions 2005-07 Pathfinder

I may be starting my own soon.

 
——

Changing the world one post at a time

My aim is to give a truthful, accurate account of the four year nightmare of owning my Nissan Sentra and the stress, exhaustion, and anger I experienced dealing with Nissan Corp. and the three dealerships. If anyone I mention here or elsewhere on my blog wishes to email me with any comments on anything I say, or wishes to contradict or challenge anything I say, I will be more than happy to review any comments, to post your comments and then comment on them myself, or remove anything that I find out to be inaccurate.

THIS IS THE THE TRUTH ABOUT NISSAN AND HOW NISSAN CORP. AND THE DEALERSHIPS TREAT THEIR CAR OWNERS AND WHY YOU:

DON’T BUY NISSAN

BUY THE COMPETITION

February 10, 2012

Nissan Class Actions and other unsatisfied Nissan Owners

After the Nissan Executives and Nissan Legal fail to return any of my phone calls or emails this week, I wanted to provide some more research showing Nissan overall as a company, showing it’s just not the Sentras that have a problem, so that you can make an educated decision as to “Don’t Buy Nissan” and to “Buy the Competition.”  Nissan clearly is not interested in “winning lifelong customers” looking at all this evidence and by the fact that Corporate will not return your calls or emails when you have a problem with your car.

 

Class Actions Against Nissan:

CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT AGAINST NISSAN RELATING TO RADIATOR AND TRANSMISSION DEFECTS IN CERTAIN VEHICLES
In 2010, Mr. Mendelsohn and Mazie Slater Katz & Freeman, LLC, filed a nationwide class action lawsuit against Nissan relating to reported defects in Nissan Pathfinder, Nissan Xterra and Nissan Frontier vehicles. To date, Nissan has denied liability for this problem and continues to fight our case.
http://www.transmission-lawsuit.com/

 

NISSAN MAXIMA, ALTIMA & QUEST AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION CLASS ACTION
LAWSUIT COMPLAINT

A class action lawsuit has reportedly been filed against Nissan North America, Inc. and Nissan Motor Company, Ltd. (“Nissan” or “Defendants”) in the United States District Court for the Central District of California (styled Howard Teba v. Nissan North America, Inc. and Nissan Motor Company, Ltd., Class Action Case No. CV 12-00332) alleging, among other things, that Nissan manufactured, distributed and sold 2004 through 2006 Nissan Maxima, 2005 through
2006 Nissan Altima and 2004 through 2007 Nissan Quest vehicles equipped with automatic transmission that allegedly contained a defect that causes breakdown, transmission slips, delayed shifts, acceleration surging and/or mechanical failure, according to the Nissan Maxima, Altima & Quest Automatic Transmission class action lawsuit complaint.
http://classactionlawsuitsinthenews.com/class-action-lawsuit-complaints/nissan-maxima-altima-quest-automatic-transmission-class-action-lawsuit-complaint/

 

REPORT: NISSAN GT-R CLASS ACTION SUIT OVER TRANSMISSION FAILURES SETTLED
It was nearly a year ago when we reported on a NAGTROC forum user getting hit with a $20,000 bill to replace his toasted transmission after using Launch Control (LC1) on his GT-R….
http://www.autoblog.com/2009/09/20/report-nissan-gt-r-class-action-suit-over-transmission-failures/

 

CLASS ACTION: ODOMETERS
A class action lawsuit has been filed against the auto manufacturer for allegedly making defective odometers. The lawsuit claims Nissan intentionally and negligently designed odometers in its 2004 to 2007 Nissan and Infinity models to inflate the represented distance traveled by between 2.5 per cent and 4 per cent.  The inflated mileage means car owners have not received the full benefit of standard or extended warranties. The suit claims owners will also see a reduction in the resale value of their vehicles resulting from the inflated kilometers.
http://www.lawyersandsettlements.com/case/nissan-canada-odometers.html

 

More complaints from Nissan owners

NISSAN SENTRA
“I bought a Nissan Sentra brand new. By the time it got to 50,000 miles, I had to replace the crank sensor, speed sensor, and mass air flow sensor. This car really sucks.” -Carmen of McCalla, AL
“My 2004 Nissan Sentra will not start. When the weather is cool, it takes over thirty minutes for the car to start if at all. One day in the winter, we had to let the car sit a whole week before it would even start to crank. We replaced the camshaft sensor 2 times within a year and a half. We spent over $800.00. Now it’s happening again less than 6 months since the last camshaft sensor replacement.”-Stephanie of Dallas, TX
“2003 Nissan Sentra 1.9 L. fuel pump has gone out twice…very hard at starting…the pressure valve in the fuel pump itself is going bad. I really believe that at 500 dollars for a fuel pump they should last longer than they are.  I would also like to talk to someone about a class action lawsuit against them. They are aware of the problem but seem to be doing nothing about it to fix it.”–Kelley of Pensacola, FL
…and many more
http://www.consumeraffairs.com/automotive/nissan_sentra.html

 

NISSAN ALTIMA – ENGINE PROBLEMS
“Now, I have a $5,000+ repair bill, needs cat converters, mass air and flower sensor (2nd in a year). They said it wasn’t covered because someone “tampered” with it….”-Jennifer of Albany, NY
“I had to have the head gasket fixed and in less than 3,000 miles, complete engine failure….” -Shirley of Stevens, PA
…and many more
http://www.consumeraffairs.com/automotive/nissan_altima_engine.html

 

2005 NISSAN MAXIMA REVIEWS
Summary: Disappointing and expensive
Summary: Don’t buy   Faults: The transmission is REALLY BAD.
Summary: A costly mess
Summary: This car is not reliable, would not buy another
http://www.carsurvey.org/reviews/nissan/maxima/2005/page-3/

 

NISSAN REFUSES TO RECALL MURANO DESPITE MAJOR CVT PROBLEMS
The common thread that has caused me not to buy the Murano is the universal serious problem with the CVT transmission and Transfer Plate which costs $4-6000 to replace when it cracks or fails, which usually occurs between 65,000 or miles. Nissan claims it is the consumer’s fault
http://perrya.hubpages.com/hub/Nissan-Refuses-to-Recall-Murano-Despite-Major-CVT-Problems

 

NISSAN SYLPHY CLUB: CAR PROBLEMS
Let me share with you all issues I faced after used Nissan Sylphy for ~2 months….
http://z10.invisionfree.com/SylphyForumMalaysia/index.php?showtopic=406

——

Changing the world one post at a time

My aim is to give a truthful, accurate account of the four year nightmare of owning my Nissan Sentra and the stress, exhaustion, and anger I experienced dealing with Nissan Corp. and the three dealerships. If anyone I mention here or elsewhere on my blog wishes to email me with any comments on anything I say, or wishes to contradict or challenge anything I say, I will be more than happy to review any comments, to post your comments and then comment on them myself, or remove anything that I find out to be inaccurate.

THIS IS THE THE TRUTH ABOUT NISSAN AND HOW NISSAN CORP. AND THE DEALERSHIPS TREAT THEIR CAR OWNERS AND WHY YOU:

DON’T BUY NISSAN

BUY THE COMPETITION

February 7, 2012

Nissan Legal & Executive Email List

Updates to contacts:

Here is the link to the Nissan Executive Bios

 

Nissan Legal Counsel

Andrew Tavi
Vice President
Legal and Government Affairs, and General Counsel
Nissan North America Inc
1 Nissan Way
Franklin, TN  37067
Phone: (615) 725-2252
Fax: (615) 967-3856
e-Mail: andrew.tavi@nissan-usa.com
Michigan Licensed: 11/23/1998

 

Assistant

Tammy Sheets
Executive Specialist to Mark Kaczynski & Andrew Tavi
+1 615 725 8102 – Office
+1 972 607 7859 – eFax
tammy.sheets@nissan-usa.com
sheetst@nmac.com

———–

Email List for Executives and Consumer Affairs

Here’s a quick email list for Executives and Consumer Affairs.  I haven’t confirmed all the Executive emails, but I should be able to in the next couple of days and will update this list with all their titles, and a couple of their assistants are below (Tammy Sheets and Vicki Sosa). A few of them have a different ending because @nissan-usa.com does not work for the CEO and a couple other top dogs, and so far @nissan.usa.com has not been returned from emails I sent.  So if you are having the same problems as me with your Nissan, you may want to start by sending a mass email to all of these:

Executives

carlos.ghosn@nissan.usa.com (got returned, also @nissan-usa.com was returned, so if you know it, please email in)
Toshiyuki.Shiga@nissan.usa.com (got returned, also @nissan-usa.com was returned, so if you know it, please email in)
Shiro.Nakamura@nissan.usa.com (got returned, also @nissan-usa.com was returned, so if you know it, please email in)
Catherine.Perez@nissan-usa.com
nathaniel.mason@nissan-usa.com
william.krueger@nissan-usa.com
albert.castignetti@nissan-usa.com
mitch.davis@nissan-usa.com
andrew.tavi@nissan-usa.com
tammy.sheets@nissan-usa.com
sheetst@nmac.com
carla.bailo@nissan-usa.com
scott.becker@nissan-usa.com
brian.carolin@nissan-usa.com
jon.brancheau@nissan-usa.com
vicki.sosa@nissan-usa.com
jett.johns@nissan-usa.com
pierre.loing@nissan-usa.com
kevin.martin@nissan-usa.com
dave.mazur@nissan-usa.com
mark.swenson@nissan-usa.com
brad.thacker@nissan-usa.com

 

Consumer Affairs/arbitration

melissa.ortiz@nissan-usa.com
anna.naraeva@nissan-usa.com
mary.baumgartner@nissan-usa.com
melody.benedict@nissan-usa.com
Kisha.Benedict@nissan-usa.com

——

My aim is to give a truthful, accurate account of the four year nightmare of owning my Nissan Sentra and the stress, exhaustion, and anger I experienced dealing with Nissan Corp. and the three dealerships. If anyone I mention here or elsewhere on my blog wishes to email me with any comments on anything I say, or wishes to contradict or challenge anything I say, I will be more than happy to review any comments, to post your comments and then comment on them myself, or remove anything that I find out to be inaccurate.

THIS IS THE THE TRUTH ABOUT NISSAN AND HOW NISSAN CORP. TREATS THEIR CAR OWNERS AND WHY YOU:

DON’T BUY NISSAN

BUY THE COMPETITION

February 4, 2012

Contacts Updated

I updated some contact info for Bradley Thacker and Anna Naraeva – I found their Facebook pages where you can message them, and Bradley’s picture below from Nissan’s website – boy he has a nice smile, he looks so friendly, I just can’t imagine why he hasn’t contacted me back yet, seeing I’ve directly emailed him and facebooked him and he’s in charge of “Total Customer Satisfaction” and Nissan is “a company interested in winning lifetime customers.”  Bradley, I am far from a totally satisfied customer.

I also found out who handled my case in the arbitration department last week and her Facebook page where she can be messaged.  These are all now on the contacts page.

Listed in order of importance:

Bradley D. Thacker
Vice President, Total Customer Satisfaction Nissan Americas
Email: brad.thacker@nissan-usa.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/brad.thacker

Brad Thacker is vice president, Total Customer Satisfaction (TCS) for Nissan Americas. He is responsible for ensuring complete satisfaction among Nissan and Infiniti owners across the Americas region, which includes Canada, the U.S., Mexico, Brazil, and 37 additional markets in Latin America and the Caribbean. His responsibilities also include Nissan’s Product Safety department. Despite this, Nissan Consumer Affairs refuses to give out his phone number saying it’s “internal information.”

Melissa Ortiz
Nissan Arbitration
melissa.ortiz@nissan-usa.com (unverified)
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=8811388

Melvyn Lemus (Service Manager, Universal City Nissan) left me a message last week saying he had received a phone call from Melissa Ortiz. I can then assume she was the person in Nissan’s Arbitration department who was handing my case. I can then assume that the email above is her email (I have not tried to email her though, so it’s unverified at this point).

Anna Naraeva
Nissan North America, Inc.
Escalation Team Supervisor, Consumer Affairs
Phone: 615-725-7376
Fax: 615-967-2559
Email:anna.naraeva@nissan-usa.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/people/Anna-Naraeva/1646221651